My Orchid in spectacular bloom nurtured by my neighbor Ron the Orchid Whisper

The Simplest Orchid Care ever from the Orchid Whisper

day to day life in South FLorida

The Simplest Orchid Care ever from the Orchid Whisper my 87 year old neighbor.

My Orchid in spectacular bloom  nurtured by my neighbor Ron the Orchid Whisper

My Orchid in spectacular bloom nurtured by my neighbor Ron the Orchid Whisper

I call my  87 year old neighbor Ron  the orchid whisper. I am a little off my normal topic. I thought the story of this modest man would be fabulous for my local lifestyle magazine Pompano Today (check the fab city I live in). My friend at the magazine agreed. The only problem was that Ron didn’t agree. He didn’t want a story done on him.  Awww, I was disappointed. He would have made a great story and I thought his techniques should be shared. So it was up to me to share his simple steps.

He lives in a simple modest 1 bedroom apartment in front of his  home is a wonderland, about 9 gorgeous orchids. When they are all blooming their beauty will take your breath away. I was stunned when I first saw them. “What do you do?” I asked him. What he does is so simple. I have asked him again and again because I just couldn’t believe his technique was so easy.

This is what he does. His orchids are planted in loosely packed regular soil, he puts two ice cubes on each plant every other day, he applies orchid fertilizer every two weeks. That’s it.

I had my own orchid which had started out large and gorgeous when I got it from my luxury retailer employer. By the time I met Ron it was simply alive. It  hadn’t bloomed since I got it 6 months before and I had no idea what to really do with it. All I knew was not to over water it.

I put it outside to share the same light as Ron’s plants. Shortly after I took it outside ice cubes started to appeared in the plant. Ron was now taking care of it, thank goodness. This orchid is now in spectacular bloom with 7 flowers. I am completely amazed by how lovely it is. I think its more beautiful now then when the fancy florist delivered it.

I  presented Ron with another plant that a friend of mine had put by the garbage after much neglect. That plant is blooming as well with three flowers open and two getting ready to open.

The orchid I took from the garbage in bloom

The orchid I took from the garbage in bloom

I now feel confident enough to get some plants on my own. Ron’s plants all have blooms and will be flowering shortly. I can’t wait.

I was surprised how well the picture of the orchid came out. I just snapped a quick picture of it. Just a happy accident I guess so I added it to the portfolio in my Fine Art America shop.

One thought on “The Simplest Orchid Care ever from the Orchid Whisper

Leave a comment